Jump to content


Blown Headlamp Fuse


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Spiritwalker

Spiritwalker

    Active Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Joined:27-July 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Dakota

Posted 12 August 2014 - 12:03 PM

I have been having issues with the fuse for the headlamp/tail lamp fuse blowing on my 2013 Gear Up. Last night it happened just as I hit bump in the road. Any thoughts on what is causing this issue? This is about the third or fourth time this has happened. Thanks.

#2 Russ Noe

Russ Noe

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Joined:30-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Oregon, USA
  • Interests:Steam machines, Urals, all Motorcycles, Aviation, Good People, Red Wines, Life, and the ability to enjoy them all.

Posted 12 August 2014 - 06:00 PM

Expect to find a pinched wire somewhere.
Follow the circuit from the fuse, outward.
Usual culprits are in the headlight wiring mess.
Let us know what you find.
~RN

#3 Rob Clarke

Rob Clarke

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined:24-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albury, NSW> Australia

Posted 13 August 2014 - 11:01 AM

Some of the Australian deliveries had a wire just cut off and dangling in the headlight shell causing a short, I can't remember if it was white or yellow- must have been excess to requirements! Mine is 2008. Good luck.

#4 Russ Noe

Russ Noe

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Joined:30-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Oregon, USA
  • Interests:Steam machines, Urals, all Motorcycles, Aviation, Good People, Red Wines, Life, and the ability to enjoy them all.

Posted 13 August 2014 - 11:09 AM

View PostRob Clarke, on 13 August 2014 - 11:01 AM, said:

Some of the Australian deliveries had a wire just cut off and dangling in the headlight shell causing a short, I can't remember if it was white or yellow- must have been excess to requirements! Mine is 2008. Good luck.
That unused wire in US bikes is for the "running light" in the headlight, which is not legal in the US.  
It just hangs around.  On my Urals, I capped it with some heat-shrink tubing.

Also, considering the "newness" of your Ural, this sounds like a warranty issue for your dealer to repair.
~RN

#5 Spiritwalker

Spiritwalker

    Active Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Joined:27-July 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Dakota

Posted 13 August 2014 - 03:03 PM

Russ,

It is a warranty issue but unfortunately for me, the dealership is over 500 km from where I live.  Just going to the shop is not an option for me.  I did that once already this year and was without my bike for over a month.  I don't really want to do that again.  

I do thank you for the information and the direction in which to look for the problem.  Besides, it gives me something to do on my day off that is both fun and relaxing.

Ted

#6 Russ Noe

Russ Noe

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Joined:30-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Oregon, USA
  • Interests:Steam machines, Urals, all Motorcycles, Aviation, Good People, Red Wines, Life, and the ability to enjoy them all.

Posted 14 August 2014 - 12:29 PM

View PostSpiritwalker, on 13 August 2014 - 03:03 PM, said:

Russ,

It is a warranty issue but unfortunately for me, the dealership is over 500 km from where I live.  Just going to the shop is not an option for me.  I did that once already this year and was without my bike for over a month.  I don't really want to do that again.  

I do thank you for the information and the direction in which to look for the problem.  Besides, it gives me something to do on my day off that is both fun and relaxing.

Ted
Ted:
I understand about the dealer proximity issues, and suspected as much.
Keep asking questions here as you search for that elusive wire issue.
We'll help as possible.  
At least you have a machine that's designed to be worked on by the owner/rider!
~RN

#7 Rob Clarke

Rob Clarke

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined:24-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albury, NSW> Australia

Posted 14 August 2014 - 12:46 PM

Upon reflection, mine was blowing when switching on high beam, low beam fine.

#8 Russ Noe

Russ Noe

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Joined:30-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Oregon, USA
  • Interests:Steam machines, Urals, all Motorcycles, Aviation, Good People, Red Wines, Life, and the ability to enjoy them all.

Posted 15 August 2014 - 01:21 AM

View PostRob Clarke, on 14 August 2014 - 12:46 PM, said:

Upon reflection, mine was blowing when switching on high beam, low beam fine.
Rob:
1) Check that the correct amperage fuse is installed in that circuit;
2) Possible try a different head light and see if the problem goes away;
2) Or: You now know which wire to trace for electrical shorts!
~RN

#9 Rob Clarke

Rob Clarke

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Joined:24-December 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albury, NSW> Australia

Posted 15 August 2014 - 01:48 AM

Hi Russ, fixed it years ago.

#10 Russ Noe

Russ Noe

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Joined:30-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Oregon, USA
  • Interests:Steam machines, Urals, all Motorcycles, Aviation, Good People, Red Wines, Life, and the ability to enjoy them all.

Posted 15 August 2014 - 12:00 PM

View PostRob Clarke, on 15 August 2014 - 01:48 AM, said:

Hi Russ, fixed it years ago.
Another job well done.
~RN

#11 racepres

racepres

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,276 posts
  • Joined:08-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Middle of the Mitten

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:53 PM

View PostRob Clarke, on 15 August 2014 - 01:48 AM, said:

Hi Russ, fixed it years ago.

Nice...Now ...What was it???

#12 Spiritwalker

Spiritwalker

    Active Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Joined:27-July 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Dakota

Posted 22 February 2015 - 09:25 PM

I never got to thank you for the information.  So, I say thank you.  I did find out what the problem was and it didn't have anything to do with either the fuse or the wiring.  The problem was, believe it or not, was in the key switch.  I had a loose pin that was causing a short that kept blowing random fuses and finally killing the engine altogether.  It was also the source of my ignition issues.  However, I replaced it and have had no problems since.  A five to ten minute fix that cost me perhaps 40.00.

#13 racepres

racepres

    Russian Bike Nut

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,276 posts
  • Joined:08-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Middle of the Mitten

Posted 23 February 2015 - 12:18 AM

^^ Now...Don't hang all that "stuff" on yer Key Ring...

#14 Spiritwalker

Spiritwalker

    Active Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Joined:27-July 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Dakota

Posted 08 March 2015 - 06:53 AM

Perhaps you are correct and I should not be hanging my trunk key, ignition key, tool box key and gas cap key from the same key ring!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users