Dnepr vs Ural. How big is the difference?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Zhmenya96

Zhmenya96

Newbie Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 11:26 PM

I am newbie here! After spending some time on SovietSteed i got feeling it is mostly for Ural owners. And here most bikes are Dneprs? And am planning to get Ural or Dnepr. How big is the difference? I mean really? I was born and raised in Ukraine. We traveled trough all former Soviet Union. I saw both of them. Ural is typical Russian horse and Dnepr is from Ukraine. I never ride any of them. Urals are coming well equipped compare to Dneprs. Brembos that first comes in mind? But really? Is it wort it to pay extra (seems like 5 grand over) for new Ural or even more. M16 are 2wd also! They don't come with brembos. What is in your opinion better user-wise. I don't need daily driver. Only for Sundays trips 20mi both ways? Cool paint on Urals? Even i will end up with Gear Up i will paint with my camo style that i have in mind (air special forces or ВДВ по-русски). I am from Kiev and going there once a year. I can get M16 and send it to US for much much less than pay a dealer here for new Ural or for used one selling here.
Now am asking trully Dneprs owners. After owning your precious rig did it ever cross your mind to switch it to Ural?

#2 shoetou

shoetou

Russian Bike Nut

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 797 posts
  • Interests:riding my MT16, hunting fishing ,

Posted 07 November 2010 - 05:53 AM

i have a Dnepr and love it but i also would like the Ural just to have new and all the new stuff that goes with it , like disk brake in front nice paint job and bigger motor , just all the new stuff if you know what i mean but. i still love my Dnepr it was a labor of love to get it running and i can say i did it ,
Marko

2008 Dnepr mt 16 true year any body's guess

There is more to life than increasing its speed
__ Mahatma Gandhi ___

if only the mt 16 could go 50 mph