I've been restoring a 1980 MT 10-36 since November 2015, largely aided by the numerous technical articles on this and other forums. The project is getting near to completion and I would like to share learnings and hopefully someone out there may find some part of this useful, as I have through the work of others.

Lot's of struggles, fun times, frustration and beer to get this far, on the home stretch now.

I purchased the machine locally from someone who had traded some of his time doing electrical work for this jewel he found in the back shed of his client. He came to the conclusion there was more work required than he originally estimated and decided to move it on. This was the first of many warnings I've ignored along the way.... The bike actually looked ok, a bit rusty and vermin had digested some of the softer components but you could feel potential. The rear wheel would not turn and the gear-shifter was seemingly stuck. No doubt a bit of oil here and there and it will be running in no time.

There was no title transferred at this stage, the original owner was deceased for many years and his brother sold it to the electrician I bought it off of. That's another story. Anyway, I'll post this just to see if it works (sort of the same strategy taken with every step of the restoration, where multiple failures are eventually forgotten by singular success....)

post-48681-0-62820900-1532589138_thumb.jpegpost-48681-0-38935000-1532589159_thumb.jpg

• Replies 278
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic